Tribal Libraries

There are 567 federally recognized tribes and villages in the United States. Each tribe or village is its own sovereign nation that holds a relationship with the United States government through treaties. Tribal sovereignty means that policies and laws that impact members of a tribe and their property are made within each tribe’s jurisdiction. The U.S. Department of the Interior houses the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) maintains the government to government relationship between the United States and the 567 Federally Recognized Tribes. To learn more about this relationship and for a list of all 567 federally recognized tribes, see this FAQ, developed by the BIA.

See the American Indians and Alaska Natives in the United States map developed by the US Census Bureau.

See the U.S. Census Bureau My Tribal Area data tool to access selected demographic and economic statistics in tribal areas.


Juan Tomás Lee
 801-715-6769 or 800-662-9150 (Utah Toll-Free)

Utah Tribal Libraries

Confederated Tribes of the Goshute

Norma Naranjo, Director
Education Department
P.O. Box 6104
195 Tribal Center Road
Ibapah, UT 84034
435-234-1140 Ext 211