Certification & Recertification

The Standards for Utah’s Public Libraries have been developed the Utah State Library Division in consultation with a committee of public library directors in the state to ensure that all certified libraries offer the most current of library services, follow the law, and best practices. The Standards represent the minimum levels for library services in the state. The Standards also provide libraries with leverage to encourage sustainable levels of support in the community and determine the library’s eligibility to receive funds from the State of Utah. The certification renewal process also recognizes those libraries that provide exemplary library service. Libraries in Utah serving legal service areas of 50,000 or less are subject to the certification renewal process. Currently, libraries serving legal service areas over 50,000 people are exempt from the certification renewal process.

Find Your Recertification Consultant

Part I - Required

Basic Recertification Standards 

Complete the Public Library Recertification Application

Recertification Application

Part II - Required

Key Statistical Benchmarks

 Review the Key Statistical Benchmarks
Your consultant will discuss these with the library director

Find Your Consultant

PART III - Optional

Application for Quality Library Designation

Libraries choosing to pursue the designation of Quality Library, must complete the online form and meet at least 6 of the 10 quality criteria.

Quality Library Application

New Public Library Certification

All Utah public libraries are eligible to apply for initial certification after they have been established by a city or county governing body for at least three years. The window for submitting an application for new library certification is open year-round. The city, county, or the library’s governing body should submit an Application for Initial Certification to the Director of the Utah State Library Division (USL) and follow the Application Process, Certification Checklist, and Other Eligibility Criteria, outlined in Appendix A.

Application for Initial Certification